24
Sep
09

A Tribute to the Niekro Name and The Knuckleball

For those of you that didn’t know, I had the opportunity to throw out the first pitch at the Houston Astros game Sunday, September 13th.    I think I shocked many when I not only made it from the mound to the plate without bouncing, but that it was a knuckler straight down the middle.  It did flutter a bit, as it should, and landed directly in Lance Berkman’s glove…the lucky Astro that got to catch the infamous Niekro Knuckler.  Well, I can’t say I threw it like Dad (or even close for that matter), but I can tell you that I did the Niekro name proud.  Just before my pitch, I was introduced and presented with my very own Niekro #36 Astros jersey and a beautiful plaque commemorating The Knuckle Ball…a Pitch for Life.  What an honor it is to represent The Joe Niekro Foundation, the Niekro name and the knuckleball heritage.

0 Responses to “A Tribute to the Niekro Name and The Knuckleball”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,096 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Share this Blog

Share |

